Sweet Black Waves | DNF Mini Review

51RTI-V6HGL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

By: Kristina Perez

Sweet Black Waves # 1 | 488 Pages | Pub. 2018

dd heading

Sweet Black Waves at a Glance

  • Overall Rating: DNF @ 51%
  • Heroine: I want a fox in my life
  • Dude: He can recite poetry to me anytime
  • Steaminess: PG
  • Immaturity:  7th grade dance


Summary

Not you without me, not me without you.

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.


Our Review

DNF @ 51%

Overall Thoughts

I love the tale of Tristan & Isolde and probably watched the 2006 film more than anyone really should. But Sweet Black Waves was too childish, immature, and weirdly ridiculous for my tastes. The dialogue was hard to swallow and I felt like I was reading about five year old best friends, not young women in their teens.

The Characters

When a book purports to be like Graceling I expect a badass heroine but Branwen doesn’t even remotely exist in the same plane as Katsa. The other characters were either immature or underdeveloped.

The Romance

I went into this book expecting a swoon-worthy tale of starcrossed lovers but the relationship between Branwen and Tristan wasn’t slightly enjoyable or even tolerable.

The Magic?

I was promised magic but the magical elements of this book were strange and underdeveloped. They felt like a random add-on and like an acid trip.


Have you read Sweet Black Waves? Let us know what you thought in the comments!

Drink Up - Teagan & Jess

Follow us!

Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram

 

13 thoughts on “Sweet Black Waves | DNF Mini Review

  1. Pingback: Unique Blogger Award – Whit Reads Lit

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up // October TBR – Fiction No Chaser

  3. Pingback: Tag: Three-Day Lyrical Challenge (Take 2) | Day 3 – The Bibliophagist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s